| Author | Post |
|---|
rhumbob Member
| Joined: | Mon Mar 20th, 2006 |
| Location: | California USA |
| Posts: | 66 |
| Mana: |     |
|
Posted: Tue Aug 8th, 2006 04:18 pm |
|
This website is new to me. I saw it mentioned in the review of Arcadia College. I have read through the site, including their criteria. It is always difficult to read between the lines - do they have some axe to grind?
Seems like a nice site but I have learned to be cynical!
|
CarolynLawrence Administrator

| Joined: | Sun Mar 5th, 2006 |
| Location: | USA |
| Posts: | 3309 |
| Mana: |     |
|
Posted: Tue Aug 8th, 2006 04:45 pm |
|
It's important to remember that the colleges PAY to be included in the "Colleges of Distinction" website. It was created mainly to give small, lesser known colleges a way to market themselves to a broader audience. Therefore, one should not assume that these colleges have some special "distinction" that has been recognized by an outside independent source. That is simply not the case. Any college willing to pay for the priviledge can be listed on the COD site. The website is a marketing tool for these schools. (Which is not to say that there aren't some terrific schools on the site.)
By the way, the site is run by a marketing company called "Student Horizons." They claim that the COD site was developed by "concerned parents" and that is true -- the president of Student Horizons is a parent. They do have an "advisory board" of college admissions people and high school guidance counselors but they have nothing to do with who gets included or doesn't get included. Among the services Student Horizons offer their "partner colleges" beyond the COD site are database management, marketing materials, and email/direct mail. Here's the link:
http://www.studenthorizons.com/
By the way, they are coming out with a new site soon called "Beyond the Books." You can read their marketing pitch to potential "college partners" via the above website. Here is how they describe themselves in that brochure: "Student Horizons is a communications and technology organization that specializes in e-communications and specialty websites within the realm of higher education."
Now, does any of this mean that you shouldn't use the COD site? No. It is a useful site and a good place to learn about lesser known colleges, and, as I said above, there are some great schools included on the site. But, always keep in mind, that it is NOT an independent site in the sense that these schools have been chosen for any distinction beyond wanting to market themselves a little more efficiently. So think of what you read there as just another marketing brochure from the colleges, not some seal of approval from an independent source.
Last edited on Tue Aug 8th, 2006 05:14 pm by CarolynLawrence
|
WestrnMom Super Moderator

| Joined: | Fri May 26th, 2006 |
| Location: | West Coast, USA |
| Posts: | 1213 |
| Mana: |     |
|
Posted: Tue Aug 8th, 2006 07:08 pm |
|
I didn't realize they pay to be included on that site. I've used it extensively, and wondered how they chose the schools listed since they seem extremely diverse. I originally looked at Colleges of Distinction, but Pope included no west coast schools.
|
CalifCarolyn Member

| Joined: | Tue Apr 4th, 2006 |
| Location: | |
| Posts: | 573 |
| Mana: |     |
|
Posted: Tue Aug 8th, 2006 08:54 pm |
|
thanks for the full description of the site I knew it was a marketing tool which is why I asked about Arcadia. There are some great schools on the list and the more schools do to market helps those of us in the 'search' process find them. Carolyn, as always, thank you for your wisdom and willingness to help our kids!
|
CarolynLawrence Administrator

| Joined: | Sun Mar 5th, 2006 |
| Location: | USA |
| Posts: | 3309 |
| Mana: |     |
|
Posted: Tue Aug 8th, 2006 09:00 pm |
|
| As I said, I think it is the COD site is a terrific informational resource, especially when you're looking for "hidden gems" that might not be in the guidebooks. I do recommend COD all the time to students and parents, but I also remind them not to take appearing on the website to be any particular "stamp of approval." I say the same thing about guidebooks like Fiske, Princeton Review, etc. They're great informational resources, but none should be your only source of information.
|
rhumbob Member
| Joined: | Mon Mar 20th, 2006 |
| Location: | California USA |
| Posts: | 66 |
| Mana: |     |
|
Posted: Tue Aug 8th, 2006 09:57 pm |
|
You folks are kinder than me. I hate it when someone passes themselves off as an indepedent source of information when in reality they are a paid shill (doesn't matter whether or not they are shilling for a quality product).
Thanks for the info Carolyn.
|
WestrnMom Super Moderator

| Joined: | Fri May 26th, 2006 |
| Location: | West Coast, USA |
| Posts: | 1213 |
| Mana: |     |
|
Posted: Tue Aug 8th, 2006 10:57 pm |
|
That is true, rhumbob, but I did research on the schools there and found most of them have the type of philosophy we are looking for in a school, so there may be more to it than paid advertising.
Carolyn, the they include any schools that pays or do they use some type of screening process?
Last edited on Tue Aug 8th, 2006 10:58 pm by WestrnMom
|
CarolynLawrence Administrator

| Joined: | Sun Mar 5th, 2006 |
| Location: | USA |
| Posts: | 3309 |
| Mana: |     |
|
Posted: Wed Aug 9th, 2006 12:29 am |
|
As far as I can determine, and I have kept an eye on this site since its launch, any school can participate as long as they pay the bills. That is the only real "screening" done. Of course, the schools that participate do feel that their strengths lie in the "four distinctions," so it is likely a self-selecting bunch.
When the site was launched back in 2004, they said they had "an advisory board" and they still say that the schools were "identified by a national team of educators and admissions professionals..." I have checked back frequently since then but their "advisory board" link always says "will be updated soon" --- there are no specifics given. They also say on the site that "a poll of high school guidance counselors from across the nation was conducted..." but that could mean two guidance counselors or 500 (they do use a few guidance counselors as freelance writers). The "editor" that they reference in all of their promotional materials is a Dr. Ruth McClelland-Nugent. I suppose she might be an "educator" - the only google references I can track down for a doctorate with that name are a professor of history at Augusta State College who also writes freelance articles on education here and there.
I have looked carefully at the materials they use to market their sites to their clients (which is how the company refers to the schools listed) many times and have found no mention of any "screening process" in them. You would think if there is a formal screening process that there would be a formal application of some sort referenced and explained in these materials. There isn't. And, as I recall, when the site was launced back in 2004, it actively marketed inclusion to colleges, inviting them to "Contact us if you'd like to be part of the site."
So, while it is possible that some sort of "screening process" is used, they aren't very upfront about explaining how it works, and who does the screening. And, it must be a wonderfully efficient screening process -- Since the site was launched two years ago with 15 or so "members" it has grown to 200 schools. Ironically, I can think of many more colleges that would fit the "four criteria" so one has to wonder why those haven't been included as well if the "advisory board" is truly scanning the country looking for these schools. Does anyone honestly think that a "survey of guidance counselors" wouldn't turn up schools like Swarthmore or Carleton as perfect examples of the "four distinctions?" Seems odd that they are not included if this site truly is looking for examples out of the altruistic goodness of its heart.
They do a very good job of marketing support for their clients, and apparently it doesn't cost much to "subscribe" to the site. They probably make most of their money off of the supplemental services they actively sell to colleges.
Again, I think it is a nice and tidy site, and a good reference for students and parents. But as I said, I am not sure how much "distinction" there is in being included.
Last edited on Wed Aug 9th, 2006 01:52 am by CarolynLawrence
|
 Current time is 07:20 pm | |
|